Kona build begins by warrendobe
July 29, 2009, 2:12 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

We had a great time with Mark, Theresa and all the crew from Runners High n Tri in Chicago. I was the guest at a charity fund raiser evening, raising money for the Finnerty children. I did a couple of organised sessions with the local athletes as well as a day of sight seeing in Chicago with my family.

I’m back in Boulder now, and my training is in full swing as my Kona preparation begins.

My next scheduled race will be the IM 70.3 Muskoka on Sept 13, where I am the defending champ. If training progresses really well, I may sneak in another race earlier. I was scheduled to race Calgary IM 70.3 this weekend, but with my heavy schedule of media and sponsorship commitments over the past 2 months, I decided to skip Calgary and focus on my training. I am disappointed not to be racing there, as my good friends Lisa Bentley and Dave are putting the race on.

On the sponsorship front, I have headed into a few new partnerships heading into Kona.

T3 Recovery Mattress Company are providing me with new mattresses that aid in muscle relaxation and repair as well as being super comfortable. It also feels cool to sleep in, which is great in the summer heat of Boulder !

H20 Audio are providing me with water proof earphones and mp3 or Ipod holders. The sound quality is exceptional and any one who has ever ruined an ipod by running in the rain or sweating into the earpieces will know what a valuable asset to training these products will make.

This year our accomodation in Kona will be the Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. This should make focusing on the race easy with their gorgeous location and excellent facilities. My family is really excited about this as there is plenty for them to see and do at this family friendly spa and resort, not to mention it’s beautiful ocean front position.

Luke at Velo Express will be transporting my bike to most of the mainland US races that I will be competing in. When you see how his truck is outfitted you will see he is providing a limousine service for bicycles. It makes great sense to transport your bike this way, especially in light of the sky rocketing airline bicycle baggage fees as well as the lack of care and responsibility they take with your ride.

Take care,
Safe Training,
Craig

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

